Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

REVENDICATIONS

Lettres ouvertes de l'industrie • Modèles de lettres

LETTRES OUVERTES DE L'INDUSTRIE

Comité de défense des intérêts COVID-19 du CITT/ICTS

15 juin 2020 / La Covid-19 et l’industrie canadienne du spectacle
«Afin de répondre à cette dévastation, le CITT/ICTS a formé un groupe de travail représentant un large éventail d'intervenants de partout au Canada. Bien que tout le monde soit impatient de commencer à produire, présenter et tourner à nouveau, nous reconnaissons qu'un retour rapide à la « normale » est actuellement impossible et serait irresponsable. Nous espérons que nous pourrons travailler ensemble pour faire en sorte que le spectacle vivant canadien redevienne florissant à la fin de cette crise.»

Veuillez prendre quelques instants pour lire, et pour réfléchir, à cette lettre. Ensuite, nous aimerions que vous preniez le temps de la transmettre à votre député fédéral local, accompagnée d’une courte note personnelle. Vous trouverez les adresses de courriel et de courrier électronique des députés du Canada ici: https://www.noscommunes.ca/fr/contactez-nous.

IATSE

  • 13 mars 2020 / IATSE PRESIDENT CALLS ON CONGRESS TO PASS RELIEF PACKAGE THAT INCLUDES DISPLACED ENTERTAINMENT WORKERS (version originale rédigée en anglais, cliquez ici pour la versions française)
  • 21 avril 2020 / Lettre au gouvernement fédéral de la part de la coalition de l'industrie des arts et des performances en direct au Canada, composée de l’IATSE, de la Canadian Actors’s Equity Association, de la Fédération canadienne des musiciens et l’Associated Designers of Canada.
    « Nous nous sommes unis pour fournir des commentaires, des idées et des propositions afin de revigorer l'industrie canadienne des arts et de la culture à la suite de la crise sanitaire de la COVID-19. Nous sommes impatients de vous aider, ainsi que tous vos collègues aux niveaux provincial, municipal et fédéral à travers le Canada, à apporter de la joie, du divertissement et la guérison au public en direct à travers l'expression créative en direct de toutes sortes et ce dès que possible. »
  • 2 juin 2020 / Déclaration Concernant l’Annonce de 400M$ pour le Secteur Culturel du Québec (IATSE local 56, 262, 514, 523, 667 et 863)
  • 5 juin 2020 / Lettre au gouvernement fédéral de la part de la coalition de l'industrie des arts et des performances en direct au Canada.
    «Nous écrivons aujourd'hui avec une demande, que toutes les organisations de ce groupe se sont unies derrière: le prolongement de la PCU. Bien que le programme soit en place jusqu'au 3 octobre, la période d'admissibilité maximale est de 16 semaines. Étant donné que la plupart des travailleurs de l'industrie du divertissement ont fait une demande immédiatement, ils maximiseront leurs prestations quelque part en juillet. Nous demandons donc une prolongation de la période d'éligibilité maximale au-delà de 16 semaines et de la date de fin du programme; jusqu'à au moins la fin de l'année civile, ou potentiellement jusqu'à ce que l'industrie soit à nouveau pleinement opérationnelle.»

Conseil québécois du théâtre - CQT

LE CONSEIL DES RESSOURCES HUMAINES DU SECTEUR CULTUREL (CRHSC)Lettre de Grégoire Gagnon, D. Mus., MAP & MBA, Directeur général, à tous les travailleurs culturels et artistes canadiens

CLMA - Lettre ouverte de Erin Benjamin, CEO de Canadian Live Music Association (en anglais)

Relancer les arts et la culture au lendemain de la COVID-19 : Un comité d'experts s'y penche.
Dix artistes, directeurs artistiques et gestionnaires lancent une réflexion sur trois grandes priorités d’action assorties de mesures à implanter. Ensemble ils représentent une diversité de pratiques et ils emploient plus de mille professionnels (artistes, artisans, personnel technique et éducatif et travailleurs culturels).

Regroupement de l'industrie des événements d'affaires (Québec)
Le Regroupement souhaite contribuer à la mise en place de solutions gagnantes pour tous afin que le tourisme d’affaires québécois puisse retrouver sa place sur l’échiquier et ainsi prendre part au plus tôt à l’effort collectif de soutien à l’économie locale et au rayonnement de l’industrie, ici et partout dans le monde. 
Ils ont plusieurs publications à leur actif, consultez-les ici (en français).

16 juillet / Une lettre publique de la communauté artistique pour une garantie de revenu de base

  • Craig Berggold - Artiste médiatique / Ontario Basic Income Network
  • Zainub Verjee - Lauréate du Prix du Gouverneur général 2020 en arts visuels et médiatiques - contribution exceptionnelle
  • Clayton Windatt - Artiste indépendant / Commissaire
  • (traductrice) Laurence D. Dubuc - Chercheure arts et culture, École de relations industrielles, Université de Montréal
  • Avec et au nom de nombreuses organisations & individus.

MODÈLES DE LETTRES (retour en haut de page)

De la part d'Ontario Presents - Action nécessaire pour étendre la PCU (extrait du communiqué)
Le gouvernement doit nous entendre maintenant au sujet de l'urgente nécessité de prolonger la période d'admissibilité de 16 semaines à la PCU afin que les travailleurs qui sont toujours sans emploi puissent bénéficier de cette prestation. Comme vous le savez tous, la PCU a été une bouée de sauvetage pour beaucoup dans l'industrie du spectacle. Ce besoin ne se termine pas après 16 semaines, délai qui sera atteint début juillet pour ceux qui ont commencé à accéder à la PCU en mars. Il est essentiel que les artistes et les travailleurs licenciés puissent continuer à bénéficier de cet avantage alors que nous sommes confrontés à une longue route jusqu'à la reprise des spectacles.
Si vous avez un peu de temps, veuillez écrire à votre député ou téléphoner dès aujourd'hui pour lui faire savoir l’importance de prolonger la période d’éligibilité à la PCU.
Global Public Affairs, qui a travaillé dur pour défendre notre secteur tout au long de la crise COVID, a aimablement rédigé un modèle de lettre en anglais et en français. Le modèle de lettre comprend également de nombreux contacts suggérés qui sont en mesure d'influencer cette décision.

Modèle de lettre anglophone | Modèle de lettre francophone

Expo Scene World Stage Design CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997

Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

ADVOCACY

Open Letters from the Industry • Letter templates

OPEN LETTERS FROM THE INDUSTRY

CITT/ICTS COVID-19 Advocacy Committee

June 15, 2020 / Covid-19 and Canada’s live performance industry
"In order to respond to this devastation, CITT/ICTS struck a working group from across Canada and representing a broad spectrum of stakeholders. Although everyone is eager to start producing, presenting and touring again they recognize that a quick return to “normal” is currently impossible and would be irresponsible. Their hope is that we can work together to ensure that Canada will still have a thriving live performance industry when this crisis ends."

Please take a few moments to read, and think about, this letter. Then, take the time to forward the letter to your local Member of Parliament with a short personal note. You can find the e-mail and mail addresses of Canada’s Members of Parliament here: https://www.ourcommons.ca/en/contact-us.

IATSE

  • March 13, 2020 / IATSE PRESIDENT CALLS ON CONGRESS TO PASS RELIEF PACKAGE THAT INCLUDES DISPLACED ENTERTAINMENT WORKERS
  • April 21, 2020 / Letter to the Federal Government from the coalition of Canada’s arts and live performance industry, comprised of the IATSE, Canadian Actors’ Equity Association, the Canadian Federation of Musicians and the Associated Designers of Canada.
    "We have united to provide comment, ideas and proposals to reinvigorate the Canadian arts and culture industry in the aftermath of the COVID-19 health crisis. We look forward to helping you and all your colleagues at the municipal, provincial, and federal levels across Canada to bring joy, entertainment and healing to live audiences through live creative expression of all kinds, as soon as possible."
  • June 2, 2020 / Statement Regarding Announcement of $400M for Quebec’s Cultural Sector (IATSE locals 56, 262, 514, 523, 667, and 863)
  • June 5, 2020 / Letter to the Federal Government from the coalition of Canada’s arts and live performance industry.
    "We are writing today with one request, that every organization in this group has coalesced behind – the extension of the CERB. Although the program runs until October 3, the maximum eligibility period is 16 weeks. Because most entertainment industry workers applied right away, they will be maxing out benefits at some point in July. We are therefore requesting an extension of both the maximum eligibility period beyond 16 weeks, and the end date of the program; until at least the end of the calendar year, or potentially until the industry is allowed by governments to return."
  • August 26, 2020 / IATSE Submissions to the Ministry of Canadian Heritage

Conseil québécois du théâtre - CQT

CULTURAL HUMAN RESOURCES COUNCIL (CHRC)Letter from Grégoire Gagnon, D. Mus., MPA & MBA, Executive Director, to all Canadian cultural workers and artists.

CLMA - Letter sent by Canadian Live Music Association CEO Erin Benjamin to the Minister of Finance as well as Ministers of Heritage, Economic Development, Tourism, Innovation, Science and Industry and Middle-Class Prosperity this weekend, seeking financial measures to alleviate the financial effects of the current pandemic: https://canadianlivemusic.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Request-for-Relief_Canadian-Live-Music-Industry_March-16-2020.pdf

Reviving the Arts and Culture in the Aftermath of COVID-19: A committee of experts addresses the issue.
Ten artists, artistic directors and managers propose three main priorities for action and related measures to implement. Together they represent a diversity of practices and employ over a thousand professionals (artists, technical and educational staff as well as cultural workers).

Regroupement de l'industrie des événements d'affaires (Quebec)
The Regroupement wishes to contribute to the implementation of winning solutions for all so that Quebec business tourism can regain its place on the chessboard and thus take part as soon as possible in the collective effort to support the local economy and to the influence of the industry, here and around the world. They have several publications to date, access them all here (in French).

July 16 / A PUBLIC LETTER FROM THE ARTS COMMUNITY FOR A BASIC INCOME GUARANTEE

  • Craig Berggold – Media artist / Team leader, Case for Basic Income and the Arts, Ontario Basic Income Network
  • Zainub Verjee – Laureate, 2020 Governor General's Award in Visual and Media Arts, Outstanding Contribution
  • Clayton Windatt – Independent artist / curator
  • With, and on behalf of many Organizations & Individuals.

LETTER TEMPLATES (Back to top)

From Ontario Presents - Advocacy needed to extend CERB
English Template Letter | French Template Letter
"The government needs to hear from us now about the urgent need to extend the 16-week eligibility period for CERB so that workers who continue to be out of work can access this benefit. As you all know, the CERB has been a lifeline for many in the live performance industry. That need does not end after 16 weeks, a time limit which will be reached at the beginning of July for those who began accessing CERB in March. It is critical that artists and laid-off workers can continue to receive this benefit as we face a long road ahead until performances resume.
If you can spare a moment, please write to your or call MP today and let them know the importance of extending the CERB eligibility period.
Global Public Affairs, who have been working hard to advocate for our sector throughout the COVID crisis, have kindly drafted a template letter in English and French. The template letter also includes numerous suggested contacts who are in a position to influence this decision."


From Associated Designers of Canada Individual Advocacy
COVID-19 Information & Tips on Individual Advocacy | WRITE YOUR MPs | WRITE YOUR MPPs/MLAs
"The ADC is acutely aware of the fear and uncertainty facing designers and producers across the country. This is an extremely challenging time, with great risks for the financial health and well-being of our members. We are working actively to advocate on behalf of our members - and designers across the country - and to develop and disseminate resources for everyone. We are also committed to supporting our members in their own advocacy and recovery as much as we possibly can."


From Canadian Independent Venue Coalition
DIRECTORY & TEMPLATES & TIPS on writing to Government Officials.

Expo Scene World Stage Design CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
302-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
National Coordinator: 1 514 504-9998 / CITT/ICTS Support: 1 514 504-9997 / Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383