Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > Six Outstanding Canadian Designers Short-Listed for 2009 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre

Six Outstanding Canadian Designers Short-Listed for 2009 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre

Designers from Vancouver, Montreal, Edmonton and Calgary in the Running for $100,000 Prize – the Largest in Canadian Theatre
posted on 8:12 PM, October 20, 2009

Toronto (ON)  -  BMO Financial Group, sponsor of the Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre, announced the names of six Canadian designers who have made the 2009 short-list for the largest prize in Canadian theatre. The finalists are:

  • Jean Bard, Montreal, Quebec;

  • Ronnie Burkett, Calgary, Alberta and Toronto, Ontario;

  • Bretta Gerecke, Edmonton, Alberta;

  • Anick Labissonnière, Montreal, Quebec;

  • Richard Lacroix, Montreal, Quebec; and

  • Ken MacDonald, Vancouver, British Columbia and Toronto, Ontario.

The six finalists were selected from a list of 17 nominees, recognized for their work in professional lighting, costume, set, sound and mixed media design and for their inspiration to younger theatre designers.

"On behalf of BMO Financial Group, our congratulations go out to all nominees short-listed for the 2009 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre," said Gilles Ouelette, President and CEO, Private Client Group, BMO Financial Group. "We would like to extend a sincere thank you to Jury Chair Maureen Labonté and the rest of this year’s jury for their commitment to recognizing such remarkable achievements in Canadian theatre."

"The jury feels strongly that each of the nominees on this year’s short-list show incredible artistic talent and provide vision in Canadian theatre," said Maureen Labonté, a Montreal-based translator and dramaturge who was selected as the new Jury Chair for this year’s Siminovitch Prize in Theatre.

"Whether it is set, costume or lighting design, the short-listed nominees demonstrate impressive skills which inspire creativity and exemplify excellence in the world of theatre," Labonté said.

Other jury members include:

  • Mérédith Caron – Montreal, Quebec, one of Quebec’s foremost costume designers and a teacher at Montreal’s National Theatre School;

  • Rachel Ditor – Vancouver, British Columbia, a dramaturge who has freelanced around Canada and currently Literary Manager at the Arts Club Theatre (Vancouver) as well as adjunct professor in dramaturgy at the University of British Columbia;

  • Sue LePage – Toronto, Ontario, celebrated set and costume designer for more than 25 years; and

  • Mieko Ouchi – Edmonton, Alberta, playwright, actor, stage and film director as well as co-founder and Artistic co-director of the Concrete Theatre in Edmonton.

The recipient of the Siminovitch Prize will receive $100,000, of which $25,000 will be awarded to a protégé or organization of their choice. The Prize will be presented on November 2, 2009 at a ceremony in Toronto.

For more information, visit the Siminovitch Prize website

Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997