Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > Rewarding Canada's finest at Rendez-vous 2018 in St. Catharines, Ontario

Rewarding Canada's finest at Rendez-vous 2018 in St. Catharines, Ontario

posted on 8:03 AM, August 27, 2018
Press Release
August 27, 2018

At the 28th CITT/ICTS Rendez-vous, over 90 delegates gathered for cocktails and dinner at Holiday Inn St Catharines Royal Henley ballroom on Friday August 17th to honour our peers at the annual CITT/ICTS Awards Banquet. Created in 1998, the CITT/ICTS awards are designed to honour individuals and companies from a wide spectrum of the Canadian live performance community. The nomination of candidates for the CITT/ICTS awards is driven directly by the membership with the final selection made by the Awards Committee. The six CITT/ICTS awards are as follows:

8-Award1_PMArts.JPGThe Honorary Membership Award is awarded to an individual or organisation not actively involved in the technical disciplines of the Canadian live performance industry, but who by virtue of their position has contributed significantly to the development of technical disciplines within Canada. This contribution can be seen through the recipient's decision-making, influence, and philosophy within the community or by showing themselves to be a longstanding friend of the Institute. The 2018 Honorary Membership Award was presented to P.M.Arts.

The Production Managing the Arts annual conference (P.M.Arts) brings together working arts managers from across Canada to learn from, and share with, other managers and those wanting to manage. The skills exchange and networking opportunities provided by this conference make it a “must attend” event. Peter Fleming, P.M.Arts Director (left) and Bonnie Thomson, P.M.Arts Administrator, (center) are pictured accepting the award from National Board member Scott Martin (right).

9-Award2_ETC.JPGThe Supplier (Corporate) Achievement Award is awarded to an individual, or a corporate entity, which has shown sustained commitment to providing excellent service and/or product(s) to the Canadian cultural industries community. The 2018 CITT/ICTS Supplier (Corporate) Achievement Award recipient is ETC.

An international manufacturer of professional entertainment and architectural lighting, and rigging systems, ETC produces lighting fixtures, lighting control consoles, dimming equipment, power distribution, networking equipment, and rigging systems. ETC has been a faithful supporter of CITT/ICTS since the beginning of the organisation. Over the years, they have participated in every Rendez-vous and EXPO-SCÈNE trade show. They provide numerous console demos, training and educational workshops to our membership both at the national and regional levels. Nick Gonsman, ETC Field Project Coordinator (left) is presented accepting the award from National Board member Eric Pells (right).

10-Award3_Softbox.JPGThe Award of Technical Merit is awarded to a production company or theatre, or a combination thereof, for outstanding achievement in the use of theatre technology on a specific project or production. The 2018 CITT/ICTS Award of Technical Merit Award was presented to Softbox Integration.

Based in Montréal, Québec, Softbox Intégration has been researching and developing new LED technologies for lighting integration into scenery, furniture, art installations, etc. Softbox Intégration collaborates with designers and visionaries to implement their projects and develop products tailored to their specific needs. They have also developed a unique electronic expertise to provide turnkey and custom solutions. Founder and President Jonathan Pichette (left) is pictured accepting the award from National Board member, Matt Frankish (right).

11-Award4_EstherVanEek.JPGThe Education Achievement Award is awarded to an individual, in recognition of longstanding career achievement as an educator. This individual is engaged in the teaching of a technical or related discipline, while preparing students for work within the Canadian live performance industry. The 2018 CITT/ICTS Education Achievement Award recipient is Esther Van Eek.

Esther is an Associate Professor of Theatre in the School of Dramatic Art at the University of Windsor. She is an active member of CITT/ICTS, USITT, and a proud member of the Associated Designers of Canada. Esther holds a BFA in Printmaking and an MFA in Theatre Design. An award-winning designer and educator, Esther joined the faculty at the University of Windsor in 2006. She is incredibly passionate about her art and the success of her students. She makes herself available to students outside the classroom and has voluntarily accepted numerous independent studies in design to further develop the skills taught in the classroom. Esther (left) is pictured accepting the award from fellow National Board member Paul Del Motte (right). 

12-Award5_SharonSecord.JPGThe Ron Epp Memorial Award for Professional Achievement is awarded to an individual, in recognition of longstanding career achievement in a technical or related discipline within the Canadian live performance industry. The 2018 Ron Epp Memorial Award for Professional Achievement recipient is Sharon Secord.

Sharon has made a huge contribution to wardrobe management in Canadian theatre through her work at the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Ceremonies, Seamless Costumes, Shaw Festival, the Grand Theatre and many more. Professional contributions include CITT/ICTS membership (including Vice Chair for the Ontario Section in 2007) and participation on advisory committees for Sheridan College (Oakville, ON), Red Deer College (Red Deer, AB), Fanshawe College (London, ON) and the Academy of Design (Toronto, ON). Sharon (left) is pictured accepting the award from National Board member, John Raymond (right).

13-Award6_JohnMadill.JPGThe Dieter Penzhorn Memorial Award is awarded to an individual who has provided significant and sustained service to the Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology/Institut canadien des technologies scénographiques, while playing an active role in the development of the greater Canadian cultural community. The 2018 Dieter Penzhorn Memorial Award recipient is John Madill.
John has taught in the drama departments of the universities of Saskatchewan, Alberta and Calgary as well has been involved in MacEwan’s Theatre Production program since it began in 1978. He is a freelance designer and has designed over 300 productions. John has been an active participant in CITT/ICTS at both a national and section level, including the joint initiative of Theatre Alberta and Alberta Human Services to develop an occupational health and safety resources for the Alberta Theatre community. John (left) is pictured accepting the award from National Board Member Angela Drainville (right).

For more information about the CITT/ICTS awards and the list of prior recipients, please visit our website: citt.org/citt_awards.html The deadline to submit nominations for the 2019 Annual CITT/ICTS Awards is March 31st, 2019.
Source: Monique Corbeil  514 504-9998
Photo credit: Victor Svenningson
Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997