Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award - Nominations Open

Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award - Nominations Open

posted on 8:50 AM, February 15, 2012
Toronto, February 15th, 2012 – The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 2012 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 23, 2012.
This $5000 Award was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and named in honour of Mallory Gilbert, who was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years and one of the founders and Past President of PACT. The annual Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding leadership within the Canadian Theatre community.
The Award includes a $1000 portion presented to a protégé chosen by the Award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building. Mallory Gilbert, the Award’s namesake, is one of Canada’s most respected arts managers. In addition to her successful 34-year tenure at Toronto’s Tarragon Theatre, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and she was the recipient of PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators during the course of her career, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

Nomination Form
The nomination form and more information about the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award can be found on the PACT website or by emailing Meg Shannon at 
Deadline for submissions is March 23, 2012.
The Panel
The 2012 Selection Panel for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award is composed of Mallory Gilbert (Toronto, ON), Cherry Karpyshin (Winnipeg, MB), Naomi Campbell (Toronto, ON), Philip Akin (Toronto, ON) and Heather Redfern (Vancouver, BC). The Selection Panel will review all nominations and select one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements. At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential. The award recipient will be named at the 2012 PACT Conference in Grand Bend, ON.
Tarragon Theatre and PACT (through its PCC division) initiated the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The award was borne out of an exceptional collaboration based on their deep appreciation for Mallory’s contribution to both organizations and their shared commitment to leadership in the theatre community. Tarragon Theatre sponsored the award for the first five years of its existence and continues to help promote it; PACT administers the award and its selection process, and hosts the presentation ceremony at the PACT Conference each year.
The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award was presented in 2011 to Philip Akin, Artistic Director of Obsidian Theatre in Toronto, ON.
Phillip is an actor and director who has worked in the Canadian theatre community for over thirty years. A founding member of Obsidian Theatre Company, Philip has served as the company’s Artistic Director since 2006. Philip is a widely-regarded advocate of Canadian theatre, championing the art form as a member of many boards of directors and granting juries. Philip has also been called upon to act as a voice for Canadian theatre, a signal of his role as a trustworthy voice of the industry.
The protégé selected by Philip was Mumbi Tindyebwa Otu, a Toronto-based director and theatre educator.
Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997