Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > CITT 2013 Board Election Slate - preliminary nominations

CITT 2013 Board Election Slate - preliminary nominations

posted on 2:16 PM, March 12, 2013
The Nomination Committee has submitted to the National Board for approval the following members for 2013 election: 
President-Elect – Michael Harris, Toronto ON
Treasurer – Thierry P. Fletcher, Montréal QC (incumbent)
Secretary – Al Cushing, Whitehorse YT (incumbent)
Director at Large – Elizabeth Budd, Edmonton AB 
Director at Large – Karl Simmons, St. John's NL
Director at Large – Sarah Zeilstra, Milton ON (incumbent)
Scroll down to view the bio notes of each candidate.
Submission of Additional Nominations
Additional nominations for each position may be made by written nomination accompanied by the signatures of at least 4 members, verified as those of members in good standing.  Such additional nominations shall be accepted for a period of 30 days from the publication of the preliminary slate above. Deadline to receive additional nominations is Friday April 12, 2013. Nominations may be sent to the National Office by email at 
The Ballot
For any single vacancy, if there is not more than one nomination for that position, no ballot shall be required, and the person nominated shall be subject to approval of a vote representing at least two-thirds of the Board of Directors. The election ballot, if applicable, will be sent by May 19, 2013.
The Results
The announcement of the election results will be made during the Annual General Meeting to be held on August 17, 2013 starting at 12:30 p.m. at the Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium in Calgary.
Timeline summary
  • Submission of Additional Nominations: April 12, 2013
  • The Ballot (if applicable): May 19, 2013
  • The Results: August 17, 2013 at the AGM in Calgary AB
The remaining Board members are:  
President - Norberts Muncs (QC) 
Vice-President - Gerry van Hezewyk (AB)
Directors at large:
Jacquie Dawson (BC)
Don Parman (BC)
The CITT Regional Sections Representatives are:
- British Columbia: Jim Dobbs
- Alberta: Murray Palmer
- Ontario: James McKernan
- Québec: Michel Desbiens
- Atlantic Region: Karl Simmons, until August 17, 2013
Michael Harris
Michael is managing partner of CETEC Group, the Canadian sales representative for ETC (Electronic Theatre Controls). ETC is a global entertainment and architectural lighting company dedicated to providing customers with the best and most innovative lighting products, services and solutions. Michael is an Alumni of Ryerson Theatre School. In his career, he has held the position of lighting technician, technical director and production manager, before moving into sales. For more than twenty-five years, Michael has crafted his sales expertise, managing and representing various lighting companies. Michael is an active member of Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) and of CITT.
Sales director of MDG Fog Generators Ltd. since 2006, Thierry Pouliot Fletcher began his career as a stagehand well over 20 years ago, in Quebec City, as a former apprentice to the IATSE local 523. In 1993, he moved to Sainte-Thérèse, north of Montréal, to attend and graduate from Collège Lionel-Groulx, in Theatre Production. After signing a few productions as lighting designer and production manager, he was hired in 1997 by Solotech, in Montréal, as a lighting product specialist and, later, as a system designer/integrator, more specifically in theatres, touring and cruise ships. Thierry have served on the CITT board since 2009 and has been Treasurer since 2011. Part-time musician, avid fictional novel reader, his recreational time is best spent in a cigar lounge or in a wine tasting event, talking about politics, hockey, and... other concerns.
AL CUSHING - Whitehorse YT
Al Cushing is a founding member of CITT and is presently serving as Secretary to the Board. In the past, he has served as Treasurer of both the national board and the CITT Alberta Section Board. After a 35-year career that embraced scenic design, stage management, carpentry, lighting, sound design, technical direction, production management and facility management, Mr. Cushing was drawn to Canada’s North, where he is the Chief Executive Officer of the Yukon Arts Centre, a performance and visual arts centre located in Whitehorse. Prior to his move, he was the vice president of operations for the EPCOR CENTRE for the Performing Arts, a five venue complex located in Calgary, Alberta, where he had to live with the decisions he had made fourteen years before, as a project consultant on the equipping of that same facility. Early in his career, Mr. Cushing co-founded the Ottawa theatre company Penguin Productions, and turned a number of found spaces into performance venues for the company. Later, that experience proved useful when he project managed the re-building of the MTC Warehouse Theatre and when managing large-scale system upgrades and renovations at the EPCOR CENTRE. In addition to his professional duties, Mr. Cushing is Chair of the Board of the Magnetic North Theatre Festival and sits on the Advisory Committee of the Cultural Human Resources Council.
A University of Alberta Technical Theatre Production graduate, Elizabeth Budd began working at the Shell Theatre, in Fort Saskatchewan, as a freelance lighting technician in 2004. She now manages the venue, looking after preliminary production, programming, marketing and communications as the Shell Theatre Supervisor. In the past, she has served as both treasurer and secretary for the CITT Alberta Section board, and is a member of IATSE Local 210. Elizabeth was very proud to receive a nomination for YWCA Woman of Distinction Award for Contribution to the Arts in 2012. In addition to her professional duties, Elizabeth sits on the board of Prairie Debut. As of March 23rd, Elizabeth will become Mrs. Elizabeth Wilkie. 
Karl Simmons
Karl is the Technical Director for the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John’s, Newfoundland, and has been the CITT Atlantic Region Representative on the National Board since 2007. 
A graduate of Rose Bruford College, BA (Hons) degree Technical Theatre, Sarah has been a freelance carpenter for theatre and television at several large scenic workshops in London, England. Recently, Sarah was Technical Supervisor for Nuit Blanche 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011in Toronto, and Technical Supervisor for the MLB All Star Fanfest, in Phoenix Arizona. Sarah has taught scenic construction for 15 years at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, at Guildford School of Acting and at Sheridan Institute. Sarah is the Program Coordinator of the Technical Production for Theatre & Live events Program at Sheridan, President of COUCTP (Council of Ontario Universities and Colleges Theatre Programs) and a Director at Large of CITT. Sarah is currently completing her Masters degree in Interdisciplinary Studies at York University, incorporating the disciplines of theatre technology, education and technical theatre history. 
Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997