Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > CITT 2014 Board Election Slate - preliminary nominations

CITT 2014 Board Election Slate - preliminary nominations

posted on 11:12 AM, March 17, 2014
The Nomination Committee has submitted to the National Board for approval the following members for 2014 election: 
Vice-President – Karl Simmons, St. John's NL
Director at Large – Don Parman, Coquitlam BC
Director at Large – John Raymond, Edmonton AB
Scroll down to view the bio notes of each candidate.
Submission of Additional Nominations
Additional nominations for each position may be made by written nomination accompanied by the signatures of at least 4 members, verified as those of members in good standing.  Such additional nominations shall be accepted for a period of 30 days from the publication of the preliminary slate above. Deadline to receive additional nominations is Friday April 18, 2014. Nominations may be sent to the National Office by email at  
The Ballot
For any single vacancy, if there is not more than one nomination for that position, no ballot shall be required, and the person nominated shall be subject to approval of a vote representing at least two-thirds of the Board of Directors. The election ballot, if applicable, will be sent by May 18, 2014.
The Results
The announcement of the election results will be made during the Annual General Meeting Breakfast to be held on August 16, 2014 starting at 8:30 p.m. at the Ottawa Convention Centre.
Election Timeline summary
  • Submission of Additional Nominations: April 18, 2014
  • The Ballot (if applicable): May 18, 2014
  • The Results: August 16, 2014 to be announced at the AGM 
The remaining Board members are:
President - Norberts Muncs (Montréal, QC) 
President Elect -Michael Harris (Toronto ON)
Treasurer - Thierry Pouliot (Montréal, QC)
Secratry - Al Cushing (Whitehorse, YT)
Directors at large:
Jacquie Dawson (Power River BC) - Term extended for 1 year
Elizabeth Wilkie (Edmonton AB)
Sarah Zeilstra (Milton ON)
The CITT Regional Sections Representatives are:
- British Columbia: Jim Dobbs
- Alberta: Kevin Humphrey
- Ontario: James McKernan
- Québec: Michel Desbiens
- Atlantic Region: Jim Wilson
Karl Simmons
Karl is the Technical Director for the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John’s, Newfoundland. From 2007 to 2013, Karl was the CITT Atlantic Region Representative on the National Board.  In 2013, he was elected as Director at Large. 
John Raymond
John is an Associate Professor in the Department of Drama at the University of Alberta where he leads the only specialized BFA Stage Management program in the country.  He has stage managed for the Centaur Theatre, Citadel Theatre, Canadian Stage, Theatre Calgary, Alberta Theatre Projects, the Banff Centre for the Arts and Catalyst Theatre. In 2010/2011 he toured Catalyst Theatre’s “Nevermore: The Imaginary Life and Death of Edgar Allan Poe” to both the Barbican Centre in London, England and the New Victory Theatre in New York City. From 1989 to 2004 John was the Director of Production at the Citadel Theatre.
Don Parman
I am a twenty-year veteran of the theatre and event scene in the Lower Mainland, with stints as a festival manager, roadhouse technician, designer and mentor. From festival creation to lighting operator, there is very little I haven’t had the chance to do in my career. I am also an outspoken advocate for industry safety (Actsafe) and have a passion for musicals. With recent changes in my life, I hope to continue advocating for the performing arts and spend more time with my first passion: my family. 
Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997