Facebook Twitter
shopping cart English | Français MENU
Connecting the Canadian 
Live Performance Community

What's New > CHRC votes in new Board for 2012/2013

CHRC votes in new Board for 2012/2013

posted on 12:42 PM, November 1, 2012

CHRC held its 17th Annual General Meeting in Toronto on September 27, setting the stage for Building Bridges, its national HR Forum which opened later that day at Harbourfront Centre.

Richard Hornsby delivered the Chair's Report on behalf of Kevin Hanson who was unable to attend. He explained that the Council is entering a new and exciting phase of its history. As of next April, the Cultural HR Council will be operating without the core funding support of HRSDC's Sector Council Programme (which is sun setting in March 2013).

Nonetheless, "CHRC is firm in its commitment to continue its leadership role on HR issues in the cultural sector: building on its recognized track record of expertise on cultural HR issues such as developing occupational standards, undertaking relevant research on labour market information, and developing course content; and facilitating strategic partnerships within the cultural sector and with other sectors such as education."

He described the new governance model which includes a Board of 10 (instead of 18), with one representative per sub-sector; and an Advisory Committee to the Board (appointed by the Board) which will help CHRC to maintain the depth and breadth of its reach into the sector.

The slate for the new Board 2012/2013 was tabled by outgoing Board member Karen Virag, on behalf of the Nominating Committee:

Kathleen De Long, Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques
Patricia Feheley, Art Dealers Association of Canada/Association des marchands d'art du Canada 
Kevin Hanson, Canadian Publishers' Council 
Richard Hornsby, University of New Brunswick Centre for Musical Arts
Ian Kelso, Canadian Interactive Alliance interactive canadienne (CIAIC) 
Parise Mongrain, Centre de ressources et transition pour danseurs / Dancer Transition Resource Centre
Liz Shorten, Canadian Media Production Association 
Larry Wanagas, Music Managers Forum of Canada
Ellen Busby, Treasurer (appointed)
Cynthia Lickers-Sage, Kaha:wi Dance Theatre (appointed)

Virag also presented the names of the members of the new Advisory Committee to the Board:

Bernard Burton, Canadian Crafts Federation / Fédération des métiers d'art du Canada 
Barry Blake, ACTRA 
Philippe Turp, Ubisoft 
Karen Virag, Editors' Association of Canada / Association canadienne des réviseurs 
Doug Broadfoot, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation 
JP Ellson, SaskMusic 
Al Cushing, CEO, Yukon Arts Centre

After thanking outgoing Board members for their commitment to CHRC over many years (notably Karen Virag and Marie Lalonde who have each served on the Board for 9 years!), and their willingness in several cases to continue as members of the Advisory Committee to the Board, Hornsby looked to the future:

"Our confidence and resolve are grounded in the Council's history, its track record, its broad and deep reach into the sector through expert and collaborative networks, its committed Board, and its dedicated staff. We know that we need to work closer than ever together to ensure that Canada's cultural sector continues to grow and shine here and all over the world."

For further information contact:
Susan Annis
Executive Director
613-562-1535, ext. 22

Expo Scene 2020 CITT connects the Canadian Live Performance Community.Join today & start networking with your peers

Contributing Members

Facebook Twitter
404-4529 rue Clark St. Montréal, Québec Canada H2T 2T3
Telephone: 514 504-9998 Toll free (Canada): 1 888 271-3383 Fax: 514 504-9997